Jotform Free Plan Limits (2026): 5 Forms, 100 Submissions, and Two Caps Nobody Mentions

Last updated October 5, 2026 · ~12 min read · by StackHonest

Disclosure: I am not in an affiliate program with Jotform, Tally or Typeform, so every link to those three is a plain editorial link to their own pricing page. The one Systeme.io link further down is an affiliate link and is marked as such — if you sign up through it I earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing here is sponsored, and no vendor saw this before it went up.

Short answer: Jotform's free Starter plan gives you 5 forms and 100 submissions per month at $0. Those are the two numbers everyone quotes. The two that actually stop people are on the same card and get skipped: 500 total submission storage (a lifetime stock cap, not a monthly one) and 10 monthly payment submissions (your order form stops taking money on the 11th sale). The plan card is headed "* All Features Included", yet its own column shows red crosses against Remove Jotform Branding and HIPAA-Enabled Features. Paid tiers are Bronze $34/mo billed annually or $39 month-to-month, Silver $39/$49, Gold $99/$129, and every one of them — including the $99 tier — is a single-user plan. Every figure below was read off the vendors' own pages on October 5, 2026.

The premise I had to correct: "fully featured" is not what the page says

This page started from a one-line brief: "Jotform's free plan caps forms and monthly submissions while keeping the form builder fully featured." The first half is exactly right. The second half is contradicted by Jotform's own pricing table, in the Starter column, in red.

The two caps that actually bite first

If you only budget around "100 submissions a month", you will be surprised twice.

1. 500 Total Submission Storage. This sits two rows below the monthly figure and is a different kind of limit: 100/month is a flow cap, 500 total is a stock cap. Run the free plan at its full monthly allowance and you hit the storage ceiling in the fifth month, not because you collected too much this month but because you collected too much ever. Jotform's pricing page does not state on that page what happens at 500 — whether submissions are rejected, queued or simply stop being stored — so I am not going to tell you. What I can tell you is that it exists, that most "Jotform free plan limits" articles never mention it, and that the obvious mitigation is exporting and deleting old submissions on a schedule.

2. 10 Monthly Payment Submissions. If your form takes money, this is your real ceiling, and it is one tenth of the headline number. Ten paid orders per calendar month on the free plan. Bronze lifts it to 100, Silver 250, Gold 1,000. A craft seller doing twenty $30 orders in a good month is not on a free plan; they are on a $34–39/month plan, and nothing on the marketing page says so.

Two further Starter numbers worth knowing: 100 MB of available space (any form collecting file uploads will eat that fast) and 10,000 monthly form views, which is a traffic cap, not a submission cap — an embedded form on a moderately busy page burns views whether or not anyone fills it in.

What every Jotform tier actually costs and includes

Read from jotform.com/pricing on October 5 2026, with the billing toggle clicked both ways. The page defaults to the annual column, so the $34 you see first is not the month-to-month price.

PlanAnnual (per month)Month-to-monthFormsSubmissions/moTotal submission storageSpaceForm views/moFields/formPayment submissions/moSigned documents/mo
Starter$0$05100500100 MB10,0001001010
Bronze$34$39251,00010,0001 GB100,000250100100
Silver (badged "Best Value")$39$49502,50025,00010 GB1,000,000500250250
Gold$99$12910010,000100,000100 GB10,000,0001,0001,0001,000
EnterpriseCustom price, quote onlyUnlimitedUnlimited——————

Branding removal: cross on Starter, tick on Bronze / Silver / Gold. HIPAA-enabled features: cross on Starter, Bronze and Silver; available on Gold and Enterprise.

The single-seat problem nobody writes about

Every one of the four self-serve plans — Starter, Bronze, Silver and Gold at $99/month — reads "1 User Individual Plan" in its own feature list. The multi-user row appears only in the Enterprise column, as "Multiuser Platform", next to "Custom Price". So there is no published price at which you can buy a second seat on Jotform. If two people in your business need to log in and manage forms, you are not choosing between $34 and $99; you are being routed to a sales call. For a solo operator that is irrelevant. For a two-person shop it is the single most important line on the page, and it is phrased so mildly that it reads like a feature.

The annual discount is not the discount on the badge

The toggle is badged "Save up to 20%". That is true of exactly none of the three plans, which is a strange thing for a badge to achieve. Plain multiplication on the published numbers:

Plan12 × monthly12 × annual rateSavingActual discount
Bronze$468$408$6012.8%
Silver$588$468$12020.4%
Gold$1,548$1,188$36023.3%

Redo it yourself; it is four numbers. The practical reading: committing a year on Bronze buys you a 13% discount, not 20% — so if Bronze is where you land, paying monthly costs you $5 a month for full flexibility, which is often the better trade. On Gold the annual commitment is worth 23% and the badge is understating it.

Cost per included submission

The cleanest way to compare the paid tiers is price divided by what you are allowed to collect, at the annual rate:

Silver costs $5/month more than Bronze and gives 2.5× the submissions, 2× the forms, 10× the storage space and 10× the form views. That is the rare case where the vendor's own "Best Value" badge is honest arithmetic rather than a nudge. If you are weighing Bronze against Silver on price alone, Silver wins on every row except the $5.

Payment forms: 0% from Jotform, but only ten of them

Jotform's position on payment fees is unusually clean, and I quote it verbatim from jotform.com/online-payments, read October 5 2026: "Jotform never charges extra transaction fees for receiving online payments or donations through your forms, so you'll only have to pay the standard rate of your chosen payment processor." The same page advertises 40+ payment gateway integrations and states that payment forms are available on the free plan.

That is a genuinely good deal — plenty of platforms take 5% or 10% on top of your processor — but two qualifications matter:

Jotform also meters signed documents on the same ladder — 10/month free, 100 on Bronze, 250 on Silver, 1,000 on Gold — so if you are using Jotform Sign as your e-signature tool, that counter runs alongside the submission counter, not inside it.

What the free plan gives you that the paid-only roundups skip

Jotform's AI Agent limits are published per tier, expanded out of a collapsed accordion on the pricing card, and the free allowance is not token:

PlanAgentsConversations/moSessions/mo
Starter (free)510010,000
Bronze251,000100,000
Silver502,5001,000,000
Gold10010,0002,000,000
EnterpriseUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited

Note that conversations track submissions exactly on every tier — 100, 1,000, 2,500, 10,000 — which tells you Jotform is treating an agent conversation as the same unit of value as a form fill. Sessions are a separate, much larger counter.

Jotform also offers 50% off Bronze, Silver and Gold for nonprofits and for educational institutions (30% off Enterprise for both), plus a stated 30-day money-back guarantee. If you qualify, Silver at an effective $19.50/month changes the comparison below completely.

Where Jotform's free tier loses badly: Tally and Typeform

Tally — unlimited forms and unlimited submissions at $0

Tally's free plan is the direct counter-argument to Jotform's whole pricing model. Its page is headed "Build beautiful forms for free" and lists unlimited forms and unlimited submissions, "completely free, as long as you stay within our fair usage guidelines", plus payments, signatures, file uploads, conditional logic and calculations, answer piping, duplicate-submission prevention, password protection, 45+ languages, and Google Sheets / Notion / Airtable / Zapier / Make / webhook integrations — all on the free tier.

Tally Pro is $29/month month-to-month or $24/month on the yearly toggle, badged "2 months off"; Business is $89 monthly / $74 yearly. Pro is what removes Tally branding and adds custom domains, unlimited team members, partial submissions, custom CSS, custom email domains, drop-off analytics and 30-day version history.

Put that against Jotform honestly. Tally's paid Pro plan, at $24/month yearly, is cheaper than Jotform's cheapest paid plan at $34, and it is uncapped on both forms and submissions where Bronze stops at 25 and 1,000. If your use case is "collect a lot of responses cheaply and get your branding off them", Tally wins on price by a distance and it is not close.

What Jotform has that Tally does not publish: HIPAA-enabled features (Gold+), 40+ payment gateways versus Tally's much shorter list, a far larger template library, and an Enterprise tier with SSO, SLAs and data residency. Two caveats on Tally I will not paper over: "unlimited" is explicitly governed by a fair use policy whose thresholds are not printed on the pricing page, and while "Collect payments" appears in the free feature list, the page publishes no figure for what Tally takes on a payment — so I am not claiming it is 0%.

Typeform — the paid entry tier gives you what Jotform gives away

Typeform is the premium end of this market and prices accordingly. Its page also defaults to the yearly column (badged "Save 30%"), so the first number you see is not the monthly one. Both columns, read October 5 2026:

PlanYearly (per month)Yearly totalMonthlyMonthly total/yrResponses/mo includedMax responses/moSeats
Basic$28$336$39$4681007501
Plus$56$672$79$9481,0002,5003
Business$91$1,092$129$1,54810,00050,0005
Growth Flow$266—$379—10,00050,0005

The line worth printing on a poster: Typeform's cheapest paid plan includes 100 responses a month — the exact allowance Jotform hands out for free. $336 a year for Jotform's free-tier volume. Typeform gives unlimited forms and unlimited questions at every tier and removes branding at Plus ($56/$79), not Basic.

One oddity I can report but not explain: Typeform's "Contacts & Automations" add-on renders as +$25/mo for 2,400 actions and +$75/mo for 12,000 while the yearly toggle is active, and +$29 and +$89 while the monthly toggle is active — yet both states label the add-on "Billed monthly". I am reporting both pairs rather than picking one.

If the form is really a lead-capture step, you may be buying the wrong tool

A lot of "free form builder" searches are actually funnel searches: someone wants an email capture, a thank-you page, and the address to land in a list they can mail. A form builder gives you the first thing and makes you wire up the other two. Systeme.io's free plan — which I checked on the same day as everything else above — reads $0 for 2,000 contacts, 3 sales funnels with 15 steps, 1 automation rule, 1 workflow, 1 email campaign, unlimited emails sent, unlimited newsletters, unlimited file storage and 0% transaction fees, with paid tiers at Startup $17, Webinar $47 and Unlimited $97 per month. That is a different product category, and if what you want is a form it is overkill. If what you want is form → list → follow-up sequence → checkout, it is one tool instead of three. (I could not get Systeme.io's annual-billing toggle to switch on the page, so I am quoting the monthly column only.)

For the automation side of the same job — pushing submissions into a CRM, texting back, routing to the right inbox — the tooling is covered in the best automation tools for lead generation.

When to upgrade: the six triggers, in the order they usually fire

  1. Your 11th paid order in a month. Earliest and sharpest trigger if you sell anything. Free stops at 10 payment submissions. → Bronze.
  2. Your 6th form. Five goes faster than it sounds once you have a contact form, a booking request, an intake form and two one-off event sign-ups. → Bronze (25).
  3. A client or partner sees Jotform's branding on your form. It cannot be removed at $0, full stop. → Bronze.
  4. Your 501st stored submission, ever. The stock cap, not the flow cap. Export and delete, or upgrade. → Bronze (10,000).
  5. Your 101st submission in a calendar month. The famous one, and often not the first to hit. → Bronze (1,000), or Silver if you are near 1,000 already, because Silver is better value per submission.
  6. Anything involving health data. HIPAA-enabled features do not exist below Gold — not on Bronze, not on Silver. This is the one upgrade where the price jumps from $39 to $99 with nothing in between. → Gold.

And one trigger that has no answer on the price list: a second person needing an account. Every self-serve tier is single-user. That is an Enterprise conversation, not an upgrade click.

What I could not verify, and will not guess

Verdict

Jotform's free plan is a real product, not a trial: 5 forms, 100 submissions a month, payment forms with no platform fee, 5 AI agents, and no clock running out. For an occasional contact form or a one-off event sign-up it is completely sufficient. The brief that sent me here was right about the caps and wrong about "fully featured" — branding removal and HIPAA are both crossed out in Jotform's own free column, and the plan's own "All Features Included" headline carries an asterisk for exactly that reason.

Where it gets expensive is the shape of the ladder. The first paid tier is $34–39 a month, which is a lot for 25 forms and 1,000 submissions when Tally gives unlimited forms and unlimited submissions at $0 and removes its branding for $24. Pay Jotform when you need what Tally does not sell: HIPAA at Gold, 40+ payment gateways, the template and integration depth, or an Enterprise contract. Pay Tally when you need volume and a clean form. And if you genuinely need a second seat, understand before you start that no published Jotform price will sell you one.

More free-tier reality checks from the same series: the best AI automation tools hub maps where forms sit in a one-person stack, Calendly's free plan limits covers the same free-tier-is-not-what-you-think problem in scheduling, Wave's free invoicing plan does it for billing, Zoho CRM's free plan limits does it for CRM, and Stripe fees explained is the arithmetic behind every "0% transaction fees" claim you will read. The Template availability currently offers no download or email signup.

FAQ

How many forms can you make on Jotform's free plan?

Five. The Starter plan card on jotform.com/pricing lists "5 Forms", rising to 25 on Bronze, 50 on Silver and 100 on Gold. Enterprise is unlimited. Deleting a form frees a slot, but five live forms is the ceiling at $0.

What is Jotform's free submission limit?

100 submissions per month — but there is a second, separate limit of 500 total submission storage. The monthly figure is a flow cap that resets; the 500 is a stock cap on how many stored submissions the account holds. Collecting 100 a month means reaching the storage ceiling in the fifth month. Jotform's pricing page does not state what happens at that point, so export and delete on a schedule if you are running close to it.

Can you take payments on Jotform's free plan?

Yes, and Jotform charges no platform fee — its payments page states it "never charges extra transaction fees for receiving online payments or donations through your forms, so you'll only have to pay the standard rate of your chosen payment processor". The catch is volume: the free plan allows 10 payment submissions per month, rising to 100 on Bronze, 250 on Silver and 1,000 on Gold. Your card processor's own rate — commonly around 2.9% + 30¢ online — still applies on top.

How much does Jotform cost in 2026?

Bronze is $34/month billed annually or $39 month-to-month; Silver is $39/$49; Gold is $99/$129; Enterprise is quote-only. The annual toggle is badged "Save up to 20%", but the actual discounts are 12.8% on Bronze, 20.4% on Silver and 23.3% on Gold. Nonprofits and educational institutions are offered 50% off Bronze, Silver and Gold.

Does Jotform's free plan remove its branding?

No. "Remove Jotform Branding" is a red cross in the Starter column and a tick from Bronze upward, and the pricing FAQ says the same thing in words: forms and signed documents include Jotform branding until you have a paid subscription. This is why the free plan's "All Features Included" headline carries an asterisk.

Is Jotform HIPAA compliant on paid plans?

Only from Gold. "HIPAA-Enabled Features Unavailable" is shown on Starter, Bronze and Silver; "HIPAA-Enabled Features Available" appears on Gold and Enterprise. So the entry price for health-data forms is $99/month annually or $129 month-to-month, with nothing between $39 and $99.

Is Tally really a cheaper alternative to Jotform?

On price and volume, yes, clearly. Tally's free plan advertises unlimited forms and unlimited submissions subject to a fair use policy, including payments, signatures, file uploads, conditional logic and webhook/Zapier/Make integrations. Tally Pro at $24/month yearly ($29 monthly) removes branding and adds custom domains and unlimited team members — less than Jotform's cheapest paid tier, with no form or submission ceiling. Jotform's advantages are HIPAA at Gold, a much wider payment-gateway list, template depth and an Enterprise tier. Tally does not publish its payment-processing fee or its fair-use thresholds, which is worth knowing before you commit.