Bitwarden Free Plan (2026): Unlimited Passwords, Unlimited Devices, One Shared Vault

Last updated October 6, 2026 · ~11 min read · by StackHonest

Disclosure: the Zoho Vault link marked below sits in an affiliate slot on this site, but no Zoho affiliate code is live here yet, so that link earns exactly $0 today — it is a placeholder, not a payday. Bitwarden, Proton and 1Password have no affiliate relationship with this site at all, so every link to them is a plain editorial citation to the page I read the numbers off. Nothing here is sponsored, no vendor saw this before it went live, and this site has collected no affiliate revenue to date.

Short answer: the brief for this page claimed "Bitwarden's free tier syncs unlimited passwords across unlimited devices with no device cap", and for once the brief is exactly right. bitwarden.com/pricing lists "Unlimited devices, unlimited passwords" among the core features in every account, and Bitwarden's own plans document says the core password manager is "100% free" including unlimited logins, notes, cards and identities on any device. The thing the brief does not mention is where free actually stops: sharing. A Free organization covers you plus exactly one other user, in up to two collections — and the TOTP authenticator, file attachments, emergency access and vault health reports are all Premium, at $1.65/month billed annually at $19.80. Families is $3.99/month, $47.88 a year for six accounts; Teams $4 and Enterprise $6 per user per month, both billed annually. Every figure below was read off the vendors' own pages on October 6, 2026, and the ones I could not read are named at the bottom rather than guessed.

The free plan, in the vendor's own words

Most "is it really free" articles exist because a vendor's free tier has a cap buried three clicks deep. This one is the rarer case, so it is worth quoting rather than paraphrasing. From bitwarden.com/help/password-manager-plans:

What the page saysVerbatim
The free scope"Bitwarden believes everyone should have access to password security tools. The core features of the Bitwarden Password Manager are 100% free, including unlimited storage of logins, notes, cards, and identities, access to Bitwarden on any device, a secure password generator, and more."
Free sharing"Start a Free organization to store and securely share data with one other user. Free organizations offer both users all the core features of Password Manager and secure data sharing in up to two collections. Any user of any plan can be the owner of one Free organization."
Premium billing"Premium individual subscriptions are billed annually."
Business billingTeams and Enterprise organizations "can be billed annually or monthly."
Self-hosting"Self-hosted Bitwarden organizations will be able to utilize all paid features provided by their chosen plan. Only Families and Enterprise organizations can be imported to self-hosted servers."

And from the pricing page's own core-features block, listed as included in every Bitwarden account: AES-256-backed open-source security, zero-knowledge encryption, advanced two-step login, built-in phishing protection, storage of notes/credit cards/identities, passkey management and usage, a username and password generator, email alias integration, encrypted export, "Unlimited devices, unlimited passwords", browser/mobile/desktop apps, "Free sharing with another user" and Bitwarden Send.

So the headline claim holds without qualification. No device cap, no item cap, no sync paywall, no nag tier. That is genuinely unusual and this page is not going to manufacture a catch that is not there.

Where free actually stops: one other person, two collections

The real boundary is sharing, and it is a sharper line than the pricing page's cheerful "Free sharing with another user" suggests. A Free organization is two people and two collections. That is enough for a couple sharing a bank login and a streaming account. It is not enough for:

One detail in that quote is easy to skim past and worth keeping: "Any user of any plan can be the owner of one Free organization." A Premium subscriber does not lose the free two-person org — they get it as well. So the question is never "free or Premium for sharing"; it is "two people or more than two".

What $19.80 a year actually buys

Premium's additions, read off the pricing page's individual-plan comparison table on October 6 2026:

FeatureFreePremium ($19.80/yr)Families ($47.88/yr, 6 users)
Unlimited passwords, unlimited devicesYesYesYes
Premium accounts included—1 person6 people
Sharing1 other user, 2 collections (Free organization)Same Free organization, plus Premium featuresUnlimited sharing inside the family organization
Integrated authenticator (TOTP)—YesYes
Encrypted file attachments—5 GB personal (expandable, fee not published)5 GB personal and 5 GB for family items
Advanced two-step loginTwo-step login includedUp to 10 hardware security keys, Yubico OTP, Duo, email, authenticator appSame
Vault health reports—YesYes
Vault health alerts and password coaching—YesYes
Emergency access—YesYes
Support24/7 emailPriorityPriority

Two things in that table deserve naming rather than listing.

The TOTP authenticator is the real upsell. Bitwarden describes it as using "Bitwarden to create six-digit, timed passcodes for logging into sites or apps that offer TOTP as a form of two-step login". It is the feature that turns a password manager into your second factor as well, and it is the single most-wanted thing people hit the paywall on. Note the asymmetry: two-step login on your own Bitwarden account is free; generating two-step codes for other services is not. Those are different features that sound identical in a feature list.

5 GB of attachments, not 1 GB. If you have read an older roundup you have probably seen 1 GB quoted for Premium attachments. The live page says "5 GB personal" with "(expandable)" underneath and the note that you can "Add more storage for an additional fee". The fee itself is not printed, so it is in the refusal list at the bottom of this page.

Families versus six Premiums: the only arithmetic worth doing

Plain multiplication on published rates, labelled as arithmetic because the page does not print the result:

There is no scenario in the published pricing where buying three or more individual Premiums beats Families. The break-even is at three seats: 3 × $19.80 = $59.40, already above $47.88. Two Premiums ($39.60) is the last point where individual subscriptions are cheaper — and two people is exactly the case the free organization already covers for sharing, so the honest version of that comparison is "two Premiums buys two sets of Premium features, not the ability to share".

Business plans: $4 and $6, and a monthly price nobody prints

The business tab of the pricing page lists two self-serve plans and a sales route:

Both include all premium features for every enrolled user, and both can add Secrets Manager "for an additional fee" on a separate page I did not read for this article. Here is the gap worth flagging: Bitwarden's plans document says Teams and Enterprise "can be billed annually or monthly", but the pricing page prints only the annual-billed rate. There is no month-to-month figure anywhere on it. So if you are budgeting for monthly billing, the number you need is not published, and you will not find an invented one on this page.

The same applies, differently, to the personal plans: $1.65 and $3.99 are not monthly prices. The page's own internal plan labels read "Premium Monthly (Billed Annually)" and "Families Monthly (Billed Annually)", the annual totals are $19.80 and $47.88, and the plans document states plainly that both are billed annually. An annual rate divided by twelve is not a monthly option, and treating it as one is how people end up surprised at checkout.

Free password managers compared: where Bitwarden's free plan actually ranks

Four vendor pricing pages read the same day, October 6 2026. This table is deliberately thin on prices, because three of the four would not give me one.

ToolFree plan2FA authenticator on freeFree sharingPublished paid price
BitwardenUnlimited passwords, unlimited devices, all core featuresNo — Premium1 other user, 2 collectionsYes: $19.80/yr Premium, $47.88/yr Families, $4/$6 per user/mo business (annual)
Proton PassUnlimited logins, notes and credit cards; unlimited devices; 10 hide-my-email aliases; passkeys; alerts for weak and reused passwordsNo — Pass PlusNot listed on freeNo — price slots rendered empty
Zoho VaultUnlimited passwords, passkeys and storage; unlimited devices; audit trails; offline access; built-in 2FA authenticator; folders and subfolders; desktop appYesNo — sharing starts at StandardNo — every tier rendered "/user/month billed annually" with no number
1PasswordNo free plan on the pricing page——No — every card says "Request a quote"

The 1Password finding is the one I did not expect. 1password.com/pricing on October 6 2026 is an enterprise page end to end. The five cards are Unified Access, Enterprise Password Manager, SaaS Manager, Privileged Access and Device Trust; every one reads "Request a quote" / "Pricing built for you". There is no Individual plan, no Families plan and no dollar figure of any kind on it. I am not claiming the consumer plans no longer exist — they may well be sold elsewhere in the site or in-app. I am reporting exactly what the page a buyer lands on from a search for "1Password pricing" now contains, which is no price. Any article quoting a 1Password monthly figure today is quoting something it did not read there.

Proton Pass (proton.me/pass/pricing) publishes a genuinely strong free column — unlimited logins, notes and credit cards, unlimited devices, apps on every platform, a generator, 10 hide-my-email aliases, passkeys on all devices and alerts for weak and reused passwords, the last of which Bitwarden sells as a Premium vault health report. Its paid tiers (Pass Plus, Pass Family, Proton Unlimited) list features but rendered no prices for me at all: the monthly slots were blank and every card's fine print read "Billed at $0.00 every month", which is obviously a placeholder and not an offer. So Proton is in this comparison on features only. The one Proton Pass feature that stands out against Bitwarden's free tier is the alias allowance; the one that does not is the authenticator, which Proton also gates behind Pass Plus.

Zoho Vault (zoho.com/vault/pricing.html) has the most interesting free column of the four. Listed on Free: unlimited passwords, passkeys and storage, unlimited devices, save and autofill, passwordless unlock (Zoho OneAuth, Windows Hello, TouchID, passkey, YubiKey), password and passphrase generator, security dashboard, data backup, offline access, mobile apps, browser extensions, audit trails, Zoho OneAuth MFA, a built-in 2FA authenticator, folders and subfolders, and a desktop app for Mac and Windows. Sharing is the dividing line: "Secure password sharing with team members" is the first bullet of Standard. And its prices are unreadable — the comparison grid printed "/user/month billed annually" under every single tier, including Free, with the number missing. A 15-day trial and a "Yearly — Save 10%" toggle are advertised; the amount being discounted is not.

Which means the honest ranking at $0 is not a ranking of brands:

When Bitwarden free is the right answer, and when it isn't

  1. One person, any number of devices, any number of logins. Free, and nothing on this page argues otherwise. This is the case the plan is built for and it is not crippled.
  2. Two people sharing a handful of logins. Free organization, two collections. Watch the collection count, not the item count.
  3. You want your TOTP codes in the same vault. That is $19.80 a year, and it is the most common honest reason to upgrade.
  4. Three to six people. Families at $47.88 a year, which beats three individual Premiums before you count the sharing.
  5. A company, event logs, SCIM, SSO. Teams at $4 or Enterprise at $6 per user per month on annual billing — and get the monthly-billing quote in writing, because it is not published.
  6. You need the authenticator but not the rest, and $19.80 matters. Zoho Vault lists a built-in authenticator on its free plan. You will be trading away the two-person sharing Bitwarden gives free, and you will not know what its paid tiers cost until someone quotes you.

What I could not verify, and will not guess

Verdict

This is the first free-tier page in this series where the vendor's claim survived intact. Unlimited passwords on unlimited devices is real, it is written on the pricing page, it is restated in the documentation, and there is no device cap, item cap or sync paywall hiding behind it. If you are one person who wants a password manager that costs nothing and is not trying to upsell you with a countdown, that is the whole review.

The two things worth knowing before you plan around it: free sharing is two people and two collections, full stop, and the TOTP authenticator is Premium, which is $19.80 a year billed annually, with no monthly option published. Past two people the ladder is $47.88 a year for six, and the business tiers are $4 and $6 per user per month on annual billing with the monthly rate unpublished. If the authenticator is the only reason you were reaching for a card, Zoho Vault lists one on its free plan — though you will be giving up free sharing, and nobody will tell you what its paid tiers cost until you ask.

More free-tier reality checks from the same series: HelloSign/Dropbox Sign's free plan limits covers the e-signature equivalent (and a vendor contradicting itself), Zoho CRM's free plan limits takes apart a free tier with caps nobody prints, Jotform's free plan limits does it for forms, and Calendly's free plan limits does it for scheduling, and pCloud's free storage breakdown does it for cloud storage (plus catching the vendor's own Lifetime tab serving two different sale prices on the same day). The Template availability currently offers no download or email signup. Related reading: best AI automation tools.

FAQ

Is Bitwarden's free plan really unlimited?

For passwords and devices, yes. The pricing page's core-features list reads "Unlimited devices, unlimited passwords" and Bitwarden's own plans document says "The core features of the Bitwarden Password Manager are 100% free, including unlimited storage of logins, notes, cards, and identities, access to Bitwarden on any device, a secure password generator, and more." There is no device cap, no item cap and no paywalled sync. What is capped is sharing: a Free organization covers you plus one other user, in up to two collections.

How much does Bitwarden Premium cost in 2026?

The pricing page shows $1.65 per month with the line "Billed annually at $19.80", and the page footer states "Pricing shown in USD and based on an annual subscription. Taxes not included." Bitwarden's plans document is explicit that "Premium individual subscriptions are billed annually", so $1.65 is an annual rate expressed per month, not a month-to-month option. No month-to-month individual price is published, so none is quoted here.

What does Bitwarden Premium add that free does not have?

Off the pricing page's comparison table: the integrated Bitwarden authenticator (TOTP), encrypted file attachments with 5 GB personal storage, emergency access, vault health reports, vault health alerts and password coaching, advanced two-step login options (up to 10 hardware security keys, Yubico OTP and Duo) and priority support. Free accounts keep AES-256 encryption, passkey management, Bitwarden Send, the generator and two-step login.

How much is Bitwarden Families, and is it cheaper than six Premiums?

Families is $3.99 per month, printed as "Up to 6 users, billed annually at $47.88". Six individual Premium subscriptions at $19.80 each would be $118.80 a year, so Families is $71.92 a year less for the same six premium accounts, and it adds unlimited sharing inside the family organization. That arithmetic is mine; the only figures the page prints are $19.80 and $47.88.

What do Bitwarden Teams and Enterprise cost?

Teams is $4 per user per month and Enterprise is $6 per user per month, both labelled "billed annually" on the pricing page. Bitwarden's plans document says Teams and Enterprise "subscriptions can be billed annually or monthly" — but the monthly rate is not printed on the pricing page, so this article does not state one. Enterprise adds SSO, enterprise policies, a self-host option and a free Families plan for all users.

Can you self-host Bitwarden for free?

Bitwarden publishes the server application and the pricing page lists "Flexibility to self-host" under Enterprise. Its plans document adds one restriction worth reading before you plan around it: "Self-hosted Bitwarden organizations will be able to utilize all paid features provided by their chosen plan. Only Families and Enterprise organizations can be imported to self-hosted servers." What a free individual account can and cannot do on a self-hosted server is not stated on either page, so this article does not claim it either way.

Which password manager has the best free plan?

Of the four pages read on October 6 2026, Bitwarden, Proton Pass and Zoho Vault all publish genuinely uncapped free tiers; 1Password's pricing page publishes no consumer plan and no price at all. Bitwarden is the only one of the three whose free plan does not include a built-in 2FA authenticator — Proton Free lists an integrated authenticator behind Pass Plus but ships weak/reused password alerts free, which Bitwarden gates behind Premium, and Zoho Vault's free column lists a built-in 2FA authenticator and audit trails outright.